So hold me, Jesus

A little tidbit of information that may help you understand my life a bit more is that I am currently umemployed. A recent graduate of Bluefield College, I have my Preschool-6 Teaching License tucked under my arm as I forge out into the “real world” of paychecks and health insurance. Having applied everywhere under the sun- ranging from preschools thirty minutes away to local schools to any and every retail job in the area- I am still jobless. At first this shook me pretty hard. Then God kinda knocked me upside the head and told me that this is my time to rest. I needed to just be still. I pushed through school and loved it- I believe in being highly efficient! But I did get routinely overwhelemed and was feeling quite burnt out. So here I am. I am 21. Educated. Unemployed. And loving almost every minute of it. Thankfully, Adam has a job that will give both of us insurance in a month. What a life saver! I am so thankful to God- he has provided me REST. Not just a couple good nights of it- but He gave me enough rest to roll around and revel in. It has been so nice. Adam’s job is new too- this is night five that he is at work. He works the third shift from Sunday nights to Wednesday nights and then has Thursday day through Sunday evening off. We’re still working on the whole sleep schedule thing.

Basically, we had five weeks of neither of us having a job after our wedding. We decided to look at that time as our “extended honeymoon.” It has been a wondeful blessing. This song has practically become my mantra over the past couple of weeks. It is by Big Daddy Weave- great dudes. I highly recommend them!

Well, sometimes my life
Just don’t make sense at all
When the mountains look so big
And my faith just seems so small
So hold me Jesus, ’cause I’m shaking like a leaf
You have been King of my glory
Won’t you be my Prince of Peace

And I wake up in the night and feel the dark
It’s so hot inside my soul
I swear there must be blisters on my heart


So hold me Jesus, ’cause I’m shaking like a leaf
You have been King of my glory
Won’t you be my Prince of Peace

Surrender don’t come natural to me
I’d rather fight You for something
I don’t really want
Than to take what You give that I need
And I’ve beat my head against so many walls
Now I’m falling down, I’m falling on my knees

And this Salvation Army band
Is playing this hymn
And Your grace rings out so deep
It makes my resistance seem so thin
So hold me Jesus, ’cause I’m shaking like a leaf
You have been King of my glory
Won’t you be my Prince of Peace

You have been King of my glory
Won’t You be my Prince of Peace

It is amazing how much peace I have needed. It is like I crave it. Unemployment kind of screws with your mind and soul a little bit- if you are not careful you can end up feeling a bit worthless, like you are not worth too much. But thankfully that’s when God just swoops in and reminds me that things are the way that they are for a reason. I love that God is the catching type.

One thought on “So hold me, Jesus

Leave a Reply

