My Hat’s Off

As some of you know, I hop between two jobs. I work part time at the land of the blue light special, KMART, and as a personal assistant/organizer in Charlottesville. I get frustrated with just have “jobs” and not a career. But then life kind of kicks me in the butt and reminds me how blessed I truly am. Adam and I make enough money together to pay all the bills and still have a little left over. Unfortunately, I don’t feel like many people can say that.

This quick blog is more of a tribute to one very special KMART employee. This woman has two high school-aged children and is a single mother. She juggles two low paying jobs and still tries to be there for her kids and have fun every now and then.

This lovely lady came into work about 45 minutes late yesterday. Come to find out, this lady was late because her house was being repossed by the bank. They had come to her house to hand deliver an eviction notice and take a few other things. Truly, truly sad.

Later on in the shift, I happened to hear her pep talk in the restroom. It was: “This too shall pass. I am not alone. We can do this. I am going to get through this. I am going to do this. I am going to make it. I am going to make it. I am here and I am going to make the best of this. I am going to make it.”

As we all filed out the door at 10:30, I heard her say to someone, “You go put your feet up. You deserve it. You really deserve it.” But all I could think was that this lady deserved it. My hat is off to any single parent who is trying to be an active parent and provide for the family. My hat is simply off.

One thought on “My Hat’s Off

  1. its such a beautiful tribute to someone that i don’t even know… and that you probably hardly know.

    i am blessed to know that you think of people in such beautiful ways. you too, are a wonderful person, and i love you!

Leave a Reply

