weekend in reverse

This past weekend we went to visit Adam’s parents. It was quite eventful. We are going to go in reverse though.

So, Sunday morning I woke up with a migraine (no great surprise since I went to bed with it on Saturday). Anyway, Adam and his parents went on to church and I just kept on sleeping. I woke up to a horrible smell and wobbled to the door glasses-less. I saw smoke coming from under the bedroom door. In a flash (as in, I have no idea what order these events happened), I found my glasses, touched the door knob (which was cool), and searched for my cell. Realizing that my cell was in my car, I went into fix it mode. I ran downstairs through the smoke and saw a few flames on the stove. Please just pause to picture me running through my in-law’s very proper and decorated house in bra-less sleepclothes through smoke toward the stove. Anyway, I grabbed a rag and slammed a lid on the firery pot, ran outside, threw up, went back in, got the dog, then proceeded to run outside with the gagging, wiggling dog. I tied the dog to the picnic table and went back to the house to open the doors/windows/turn on the exhaust fan. Then I looked at the clock…it was only 9:27…they wouldn’t home ’till noon from church and the house stunk and was full of smoke. So, I sat on the porch, still bra-less, holding the shaking dog, with my head between my heads trying not to throw up again. Needless to say, my head felt horrible. After about an hour, I held my breath, ran upstairs and grabbed the essentials (um, a phone, a book, sunglasses and a bra). After Adam’s parents got home, Adam and I packed in a jiffy and then Vic and Linda took us out to Panera. The house stunk that bad. It turns out that Linda was pickling watermelon rinds (who knew this was possible?) She thought she had turned the water/vinegar/spice mix off, but the dial just went to HI instead of completely up to the off position. Fun times, folks. Fun times.

But we did have a lot of fun on Saturday. Adam and I were invited to go on a trip to Mount Vernon by Adam’s best friend, Bryan, and his mother and grandma. It was great fun (even though it was 90+ and humid!) It turns out the George Washington was quite an amazing farmer, business man, and husband. My favorite part was seeing the bedroom where he died. Lady Washington couldn’t bare to sleep in their bed after he passed, so she took room in the attic until her death soon after his. All 33 members of the Washington family members are buried in a brick family tomb. It was quite interesting.

Mount Vernon

Mount Vernon

 

Washington was a strong Christian and chose to have the peace dove at the top of his home

Washington was a strong Christian and chose to have the peace dove at the top of his home

 

Potomac side of Mount Vernon

Potomac side of Mount Vernon

 

sweating bullets...did I mention that I forgot a hair tie and had to use a broken pencil all day?!

sweating bullets...did I mention that I forgot a hair tie and had to use a broken pencil all day?!

 

One of the four farms at Mount Vernon

One of the four farms at Mount Vernon

 

This captures our day perfectly. Lost, thirsty, but having fun!

This captures our day perfectly. Lost, thirsty, but having fun!

 

Friday and Thursday were also fun. Adam and I look forward to car rides together. It is our catch-up time and I am usually uuber relaxed after the Dramamine kicks in 🙂 Friday, Linda made us a delicious steak dinner and we chilled out and watched the puppies snuggle and run and fall down. Amazing how entertaining that is… Friday was fun too. Vic made his famous chicken parm and then Adam and I went over to Bryan’s and played Wii Resort. Great fun! I missed my call. Archery is my specialty!

Also, Adam and I are on the puppy fence. After meeting the puppies this week, we REALLY want the little girl, but we are trying to be financially responsible, so we’ll see. BUT, I really want her. This is not a picture of her, but she looks a lot like this. She is a dacshound/chihuahua mix, but looks like a rottweiler puppy. Weird. But SUPER cute. She likes to nuzzle up around your neck like a scarf.

Leave a Reply

