It has been a year. On January 31st, Adam and I celebrated our one year anniversary. It was kinda crazy (several feet of snow + crazy work schedule = possibly cancelled anniversary plans). But at the last minute, we decided to trek out to the Melting Pot and it was grand. Oh. so. grand.

Dating in College:

Engaged:

Married: (why does Adam look disgruntled?!)

Six Months Later:

January 31, 2010

One year and one dog later:

Please excuse my "I've had two drinks" eyes!

It’s been a year. I don’t know if I would label 2009 as an oh-so-grand year. It was a toughie in many ways, but it was also pretty great.

Adam and I were talking about binoculars this morning. I am really horrible about looking through them. At my parent’s house whenever any kind of interesting bird flies by, my mom springs up, religiously rushes to the binoculars, and tells us about how excited she is to see an eagle or a pelican or some other winged creature. She watches loons, otters, pretty much any interesting wildlife that’s in view from the kitchen. I like to do that too. But I notice other things. I look at the heron for about two seconds and then notice the dock. How a plank needs rehammering or a boat that needs repainting or I notice the cork that’s missing in a crab pot. Soon enough I look closer and see that the grass needs cutting or the windows are dirty. {I promise my parent’s don’t live in a dumpy sink hole.} I just happen to get stuck on what’s gone wrong or what’s bad. Adam and I were discussing jobs to apply for (normal conversation) and it became so clear that I am too focused on the teaching field. I need to take off the binoculars and zoom out. No more staring at teaching jobs that aren’t mine right now. No more thinking about how flawed the school system is. No more thinking about job cuts or educational budget decreases. Nope. Nope. Nope. Just can’t do it anymore. It’s making me a crabby camper.

The cruddy thing for Adam is that I am hardcore into the binocular (is that a word?) way of life. I bring it into our marriage. I get stuck on zooming in on situations, that I can only study and talk about that one aspect of our relationship.

The other day we were talking about one of our mutual friends and I said, “Man, he’s really a great guy. He’d give you the shirt off his back.” I sensed a little jealousy and Adam said, “What does that make me?” Usually my smart ass self would say, “Chopped Liver.” However, I have found that a. I have a crappy beside manner, b. I cruelly  laugh in inappropriate situations, and c. sarcasm hurts 90% of the time. So I said, “Adam, of course I think you’re a great guy. You work 40+ hours a week to keep a roof over our heads and wheels on our cars. You come home every morning and wake me up lovingly. And you have a big, sensitive heart. You are pretty awesome.” Adam appreciated the words and thanked me for not including the “but.” It made me sad that I usually attach a “but” to things. “I really appreciate you helping me, BUT it would be super if you could finish what you started.” “Thanks for helping me bring groceries inside, BUT could you help me make dinner?” Blah, blah, blah.

Down with the binoculars, up with the love. That’s what I’ve learned in Year 1 of marriage.

On a totally separate note. Lots of snow = lots of time with the cutest dog e v e r.

 

Harvey helping me strip the sheets off of our bed.

Leave a Reply

