Totem Poles

Tomorrow I am making totem poles with my class.

This could mean one of several things:

A. I am still in the classroom

B. I must be crazy to give my children glue, glitter, feathers, markers, and scissors at one time

C. I am at my whit’s end to what to do with these children.

D. All of the above.

I love what totem poles represent. Each animal on the pole has a part in a story. That story must be passed down from generation to generation. I wish we still used them to teach our children. Tomorrow, my children will think of an accomplishment and create symbols (animals or not), and make his/her own pole. I am excited…and terrified.

One thought on “Totem Poles

Leave a Reply

